Search:

A year of reading aloud : 52 poems to learn and love / by Rodgers, Georgina.;
Enjoy the magic of reading aloud and switch off from the distractions of life through the contemplation of poetry. Reciting poetry is a tradition as old as time. Ancient Greeks used it for awakening the mind and shaping character. Memorising poetry exercises the brain and gives it strength to learn and remember other information. It is also innately mindful as it calls us back to focus on where we are right now. It makes us pay attention and helps us inhabit the moment. Each of the 52 poems in this book is accompanied by an explanation of its key messages along with some insight about the poet.
Subjects: Literature.; Literature.;
© 2018., Yellow Kite,
Available copies: 0 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

The library of ice : readings from a cold climate / by Campbell, Nancy,1978-;
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing. Long captivated by the solid yet impermanent nature of ice, by its stark, rugged beauty, acclaimed poet and writer Nancy Campbell sets out from the world's northernmost museum - at Upernavik in Greenland - to explore it in all its facets. From the Bodleian Library archives to the traces left by the great polar expeditions, from remote Arctic settlements to the ice houses of Calcutta, she examines the impact of ice on our lives at a time when it is itself under threat from climate change.
Subjects: Literature.; Literature.;
© 2018., Scribner UK,
Available copies: 0 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

Making it up as I go along / by Keyes, Marian,author.;
This is a collection of hilarious, poignant, and moving essays from Marian Keyes. Marian's tales of her eye-lash extension horrors, domestic goddess attempts, and the time that she decided to become a yoga instructor will have you crying with laughter.
Subjects: Literature.; Literature.;
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

A slip of the keyboard : collected non-fiction / by Pratchett, Terry,author.;
'A Slip of the Keyboard' brings together the finest examples of Pratchett's non fiction writing, both serious and surreal: from musings on mushrooms to what it means to be a writer (and why banana daiquiris are so important); from memories of Granny Pratchett to speculation about Gandalf's love life, and passionate defences of the causes dear to him. With all the humour and humanity that have made his novels so enduringly popular, this collection brings Pratchett out from behind the scenes of the Discworld to speak for himself.
Subjects: Literature.; Literature.;
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

Maeve's times : selected Irish Times writings / by Binchy, Maeve,author.; Ingle, Roisin,editor.;
Maeve Binchy is well-known for her bestselling novels, the most recent of which was 'A Week in Winter'. But for many years Maeve was a journalist, writing for The Irish Times. From 'The Student Train' to 'Plane Bores', 'Bathroom Joggers' to 'When Beckett met Binchy', these articles have all the warmth, wit and humanity of her fiction. Arranged in decades, from the 1960s to the 2000s, and including Maeve's first and last ever piece of writing for The Irish Times, the columns also give a fascinating insight into the author herself.
Subjects: Literature.; Literature.;
Available copies: 6 / Total copies: 6
unAPI

Greatest hits [sound recording] / by Barnett, Laura,1982-author.; Church, Imogen,narrator.;
Read by Imogen Church.Alone in her studio, Cass Wheeler is taking a journey back into her past. After a silence of ten years, the singer-songwriter is picking the sixteen tracks that have defined her - sixteen key moments in her life - for a uniquely personal Greatest Hits album. In the course of this one day, both ordinary and extraordinary, the story of Cass's life emerges - a story of highs and lows, of music, friendship and ambition, of great love and great loss. But what prompted her to retreat all those years ago, and is there a way for her to make peace with her past?
Subjects: Audiobooks.; Literature.;
© 2018., ISIS Audio Books,
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

The rub of time : Bellow, Nabokov, Hitchens, Travolta, Trump : essays and reportage, 1986-2016 / by Amis, Martin,author.;
Bellow, Nabokov, Hitchens, Travolta, Trump. Essays and reportage, 1986-2016. One of the finest essayists of all time with an essential collection of essays looking at our times.
Subjects: Literature.;
© 2017., Jonathan Cape,
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

The catch / by Sampson, Fiona,author.;
Bright, sharp and elemental, the poems of Fiona Sampson's collection in 'The Catch' are of quiet attention and devastating clarity - paying full attention to slices of life and states of mind - delicately hewn patterns of patience and grace, exquisitely observed.
Subjects: Literature.;
© 2016., Chatto & Windus,
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

The weight of light / by Powici, Chris,author.;
Chris Powici's poems range from the shed door to the back beyond, from a rain swept railway station to a graveyard on Skye. Along the way he writes about otters, cave paintings, moorland rivers, bird cries, and abandoned boats, in search of those moments when the human and the wild rub up against one another and we find ourselves suddenly, mysteriously at home on this 'good, wet earth'.
Subjects: Literature.;
© 2015., Red Squirrel Press,
Available copies: 2 / Total copies: 2
unAPI

The touch of time : new & selected poems / by Conn, Stewart.;
'The Touch of Time' is a new retrospective by Stewart Conn, one of Scotland's most distinguished poets.
Subjects: Literature.;
© 2014., Bloodaxe Books,
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI